Ex-champ Avanesyan KOs Lejarraga again

Former WBA interim welterweight champion David Avanesyan (25-3-1, 13 KOs) of Russia stopped Kerman Lejarraga (28-2, 23 KOs) of Spain again Saturday night in round one at the Bilbao Arena in Bilbao, Spain, to retain his EBU European title. Avanesyan, trailing on all official scorecards, stopped Lejarraga in March of this year at the same venue in round nine to win the same title.

Avanesyan definitely made the adjustments this time around dropping Lejarraga early in round one with a shot to the temple. Lejarraga beat the count but was down again shortly after from a short left hook to the chin. Lejarraga easily beat the count but the referee apparently didn’t like what he saw in his eyes or response and waved off the fight. The corner of Lejarraga was not pleased with the stoppage and expressed it to the referee to no avail.

Spence-Porter Undercard Results
Wilder-Ortiz, Santa Cruz-Flores lands in Vegas

Top Boxing News

PLEASE READ
We have a few rules to make our comment section more enjoyable for everyone.
1. Keep comments related to boxing.
2. Be respectful, polite and keep it clean.
3. Personal attacks will not be tolerated.
Offending posts will be removed.
  • saw the replay. Looked like Lejarraga was going to get dropped again. he would have had to hurt Avanesyan or he was going to be stopped by KO instead of TKO. Lejarraga was a puncher, especially a good body puncher, but he got hurt too quickly in this one. Also, not sure if Avanesyan is the top Armenian fighter at welterweight. Gor Yeritsyan may top him before too long (if he wins a few more fights). Avanesyan should be able to get some of the top 5 guys at welterweight again.

  • >