Welcome to Super Saturday

After a forgettable September for the most part, boxing closes with a bang today. Three major cards around the globe will give us a near-solid block of top talent in action for almost 10 hours.

ESPN+ 2:30PM ET/11:30AM PT
York Hall, London, England

WBA/IBF unified super lightweight champion Josh Taylor (16-0, 12 KOs) defends against mandatory challenger Apinun Khongsong (16-0, 13 KOs), plus undercard featuring former WBC flyweight champ Charlie Edwards.

DAZN 3PM ET/Noon PT
Plazamedia Studios, Munich, Germany

IBF cruiserweight champion ‘The KO Doctor’ Yuniel Dorticos (24-1, 22 KOs) faces former champ Mairis Briedis (26-1, 19 KOs) in the WBSS Ali Trophy final, plus undercard.

Showtime PPV 7PM ET/4PM PT
Mohegan Sun, Uncasville, Connecticut

This is a marathon boxing card featuring five world title fights, plus an eliminator.

The telecast is split into two parts, topped by with Jermall Charlo (30-0, 22 KOs) defending his WBC middleweight title against #1-ranked contender Sergiy Derevyanchenko (13-2, 10 KOs) in the first part. Also, Brandon Figueroa (20-0-1, 15 KOs) will defend his WBA super bantamweight title against Damien Vasquez (15-1-1, 8 KOs), and WBO bantamweight titlist John Riel Casimero (29-4, 20 KOs) will defend his 122-pound belt against Duke Micah (24-0, 19 KOs).

After a 30-minute intermission, there will be three more fights with a 154-pound world title unification serving as the main event when WBC champion Jermell Charlo (33-1, 17 KOs) takes on WBA/IBF champion Jeison Rosario (20-1-1, 13 KOs). Also, Luis Nery (30-0, 24 KOs) faces Aaron Alameda (25-0, 13 KOs) for the vacant WBC super bantamweight title, and former unified world champion Danny Roman (27-3-1, 9 KOs) takes on Juan Carlos Payano (21-3, 9 KOs) in a WBC super bantamweight eliminator.

Dorticos, Briedis pass final covid test
Mario Cazares: It was a clean punch to the head

Top Boxing News

PLEASE READ
We have a few rules to make our comment section more enjoyable for everyone.
1. Keep comments related to boxing.
2. Be respectful, polite and keep it clean.
3. Personal attacks will not be tolerated.
Offending posts will be removed.
Repeat offenders will be put on moderation.
  • Also watching Hirgovic tonight as well as the MTK Global card in Latvia and WBSS Breidis/Dorticos. Fight overload but great to see.

  • >
    %d bloggers like this: