Oosthuizen wins in the first round

By Ron Jackson

In a complete mismatch South Africa’s Thomas Oosthuizen blasted out Ugandan Musa “Hitman” Ntege at 63 seconds into the first round, to claim the vacant African Boxing Union cruiserweight title at the Carousel Casino in Hammanskraal north of Pretoria on Sunday afternoon. The 34-year-old Oosthuizen came out fast at the opening bell against the smaller Ntege and battered him to the canvas on three occasions before referee Thabo Spampool waved the fight off.

The unused judges were Simphiwe Mbini Patience Ngubo and Moses Zauna.

This was a complete massacre and Boxing SA and the African Boxing Union should not have sanctioned the fight as it was the vastly more experienced and multiple world champion, Oosthuizen in against a complete novice, who has never beaten an opponent of consequence.

The southpaw Oosthuizen improved his record to 32-3-2, 19 KOs and the 29-year-old Ntege’s record dropped to 8-4, 6 KOs.

Boxing is a dangerous sport with damage and deaths occurring when fights like this are allowed to happen. No blame can be laid on Oosthuizen as he did what he had to do with the opposition in front of him. If Oosthuizen wants to get back into world title fight contention he needs to go in against better opposition.

ESPN+ picks up Pascal-Eifert IBF eliminator
Hammer Hands returns with victory

Top Boxing News

We have a few rules to make our comment section more enjoyable for everyone.
1. Keep comments related to boxing.
2. Be respectful, polite and keep it clean.
3. Personal attacks will not be tolerated.
Offending posts will be removed.
Repeat offenders will be put on moderation.
  • Multiple “world champion”? Oosthuizen has never even fought for a legitimate belt. What a joke. Some of these writers should be banned for perpetuating idiocy.

    • EVERYBODY is entitled to their “opinion”, we’re NOT a totalitarian repressive dictatorship!

      Oosthuizen is a two division world champion, so technically, the article is correct in stating he’s a multiple world champion regardless of the sanctioning body.

      • No, being bestowed a phony belt by some joke organization does NOT make you a world champion. This mentality is what is destroying the sport. Have some integrity!

  • Agree Ron Jackson, Boxing SA and the African Boxing Union should answer to sanctioning this mishmatched fight.

  • If you like it or not with so many boxing organisations around these days a fighter has the right to be called a world of the WBA, WBO, IBF,WBC,IBO etc

  • >