NABF 2019 Awards Banquet

By Boxing Bob Newman

The 51st annual NABF convention awards banquet was held Thursday evening at the host hotel Marriott Resort Waikiki Beach in Honolulu, Hawai’i. After dining on Hawaiian versions of pulled pork, Mahi Mahi, grilled chicken, and beef, along with poi, fresh pineapple and local desserts, guests were introduced to Honolulu’s mayor, the honorable Kirk Caldwell.
Kirk Caldwell Mayor Of Honolulu
Caldwell had received members of the NABF board on Wednesday at City Hall. Caldwell addressed the banquet gathering with a promise to bring boxing back to Honolulu.

Outgoing president Craig Hubble started out the awards ceremony by bestowing the following awards:

Lifetime Achievement- Bobby Lee (accepted by Chuck Williams)
Hard Worker- Tommy Ashy
Sam Macias Memorial- David Sutherland
Mahalo (Thank You)- Chuck Williams
Mahalo (Thank You)- Hubert Minn

Awards presented in absentia:
Rising Star- Maxim Dadashev
Matchmaker of the Year- Roberto Diaz of Golden Boy Promotions
Champion of the Year- Shakur Stevenson
Fighter of the Year- Teofimo Lopez
Promoter of the Year- Top Rank
Manager of the Year- Egis Klimas

Returning President Duane Ford then finished out the presentations with the following:

Commission of the Year: California State Athletic Commission
Executive Officer of the Year: Andy Foster (CSAC)

During his acceptance, Hubert Minn vowed to bring a WBC convention to Hawai’i as well in the near future.

Saunders, Isufi make weight
Ex-champ Ryan Burnett returns tonight

Top Boxing News

We have a few rules to make our comment section more enjoyable for everyone.
1. Keep comments related to boxing.
2. Be respectful, polite and keep it clean.
3. Personal attacks will not be tolerated.
Offending posts will be removed.
Repeat offenders will be put on moderation.